<!--email_off-->
English

Market & Investment

Hakuba House for Sale in Misorano: Sunny 4LDK Corner Home

By Hakuba Land editorial team, Gemini株式会社Published

Category: Market & Investment

Sunroom and bay window on the side of listing HL-0002, a two-storey house in Misorano, Hakuba

HL-0002 is a pre-owned two-storey house in Misorano, Hokujo, Hakuba Village, listed at ¥72,000,000. It is laid out as 4LDK plus a storage room, has 174.67 m² of floor area on a 291.13 m² freehold lot, and was built in November 1997.

Two things stand out in the listing: the lot is a corner with public roads on two sides, and the house is designed around the sun, with a south-facing main side, a sunroom, a roof balcony and an open-ceiling space. This article sets out what the listing says and what to confirm before you make an offer.

See the full listing with photos and floor plan → HL-0002

HL-0002 at a glance

The table below shows the listing details as published (checked 29 October 2026).

ItemAs listed
Price¥72,000,000
Property typePre-owned lodging facility (中古 宿泊施設)
Layout4LDK + storage room (納戸), 2 storeys, wooden
Floor area (used portion)174.67 m² (52.83 tsubo)
Land291.13 m² (88.06 tsubo), freehold; land category 宅地
BuiltNovember 1997
PlanningNon-delineated city planning area, no use zone; building coverage 60%, floor-area ratio 200%
RoadsSouth: 10 m-wide public road, 18 m frontage / West: 6 m-wide public road, 18 m frontage
Parking2 cars
UtilitiesElectricity, propane gas, public water
AccessJR Oito Line, Hakuba Station, 39 min on foot
StatusOccupied; handover negotiable
TransactionBrokerage

At the asking price, the house works out to roughly ¥412,000 per m² of floor area. That is simple division of the listed price by the listed floor area, not a valuation.

A house built around the sun

The listing gives the main daylight side as south and lists good sunlight and an open-ceiling (atrium) space. Equipment includes a sunroom, a roof balcony, bay windows, double glazing, air conditioning, closets, an indoor washing-machine space, light fixtures, two toilets with heated bidet seats and digital terrestrial TV. No renovation is listed.

The photos on the listing page show the exterior with the sunroom and bay window, the entrance porch and parking, the living and dining area, the kitchen, the bathroom and a Western-style bedroom on the upper floor. The floor plan is on the listing page.

Corner lot: two public roads

The lot has 18 m of frontage on a 10 m-wide public road to the south and 18 m on a 6 m-wide public road to the west, with no private road share. Under the Building Standards Act, a site in a city planning area generally has to touch a road at least 4 m wide for 2 m or more (Building Standards Act Arts. 42 and 43, e-Gov); both roads here are wider than that. Two frontages also give more options for the entrance, parking and snow storage. Ask the village who clears each road in winter.

The Misorano villa-area rules: check before you plan changes

The listing states building coverage of 60% and a floor-area ratio of 200%, the general figures for an area with no use zone. Hakuba Village, however, publishes a separate table of agreements for villa subdivisions. For the Misorano villa area (みそら野別荘地) it lists building coverage of 20%, a floor-area ratio of 40%, two storeys, a height limit of 8.5 m on sites up to 500 m² (13 m above that), and setbacks of 5 m from roads (10 m from the main trunk road) and 3 m from neighbours (Hakuba Village: other standards).

Why it matters for this house:

  • The existing floor area of 174.67 m² is about 60% of the 291.13 m² lot. A 40% limit would allow about 116 m² of total floor area on this lot.
  • The lot is under 500 m², so the 8.5 m height limit would apply.

The listing does not say whether the villa-area agreement covers this lot or how it treats a house built in 1997, and we do not guess. If you might extend, rebuild or change the use later, ask the Misorano management office of Hakuba Sogo Kaihatsu (白馬綜合開発株式会社みそら野管理事務所) and the village which rules apply, and check the important matters explanation at contract, as the village advises.

Lodging facility or family home? The licence question

The listing classifies the property as a pre-owned lodging facility, while its property name calls it a pre-owned house. It does not state a lodging licence, a home-sharing notification, a licence number or a holder, and we do not add one.

Under Japan’s Inns and Hotels Act, running paid accommodation needs a prefectural licence (Article 3), and a buyer takes over an existing operator’s status only with the governor’s approval of the business transfer (Article 3-2) (Inns and Hotels Act, e-Gov). If you plan to host guests, ask the seller what, if anything, is in place, and talk to Hakuba Village and the Omachi health office (大町保健所) before you sign. A home-sharing (minpaku) notification has a 180-night yearly cap and Nagano restricts it in some areas in winter, so check the exact address (Nagano Prefecture). Both routes are compared in minpaku vs an inn licence in Hakuba.

A 1997 wooden house: what to inspect

The house was built in November 1997, after Japan’s 1981 seismic standard took effect. MLIT still recommends checking joints and similar details of post-1981 timber-frame houses (MLIT: seismic retrofitting). With no renovation listed, plan for:

  • a building inspection, including the roof, the sunroom and the roof balcony waterproofing;
  • the building confirmation and completion inspection certificates;
  • drainage: the listing does not mention sewerage, so confirm a public sewer connection or septic tank;
  • heating: the listing names air conditioning only, so ask how the house is heated in winter.

Location and running costs

The listing places the house in Hokujo, Hakuba Village, 39 minutes on foot from Hakuba Station on the JR Oito Line. Its map and cadastral documents include lot numbers, so we do not show them online; you can request them through the listing page.

  • Fixed asset tax: ask the seller for the latest tax statement for the land and building. How it works: Hakuba property tax.
  • Villa-area fees: the listing shows no management, water or other fees. Ask the management office what applies.
  • Accommodation tax: if you host paying guests, Hakuba Village’s accommodation tax applies from 1 June 2026 (Hakuba Village). Details: Hakuba accommodation tax.
  • Purchase costs: budget for registration, stamp duty, a property-tax proration and brokerage fees on top of the price.

For the wider market, MLIT puts Hakuba Village’s average residential land price change in the 2026 official land price at +22.8% (MLIT, 2026 official land price, Hakuba). Those are benchmark figures for survey points and cannot be compared directly with this asking price.

Checklist before you make an offer

  1. Rules: whether the Misorano villa-area agreement covers this lot, and what it means for extension or rebuilding (management office, village).
  2. Licence: what, if anything, is in place, and which route fits your plan (seller, village, Omachi health office).
  3. Building: inspection, certificates, heating and drainage.
  4. Roads: winter snow clearing on both frontages.
  5. Handover: the house is occupied; agree the date and conditions in writing.
  6. Buying from abroad: read can foreigners buy property in Hakuba?

About this listing

Hakuba Land is a brand of Gemini株式会社, a licensed real-estate broker. Gemini株式会社 handles this property as a broker. The listing was published on 21 September 2026, with the next update scheduled for 8 November 2026. The listing gives no revenue or occupancy figures, and neither do we. This article is general information, not legal or tax advice.

Last checked: 29 October 2026.

Sources

Frequently asked questions

How much is HL-0002 and what do you get?

The asking price is ¥72,000,000. It covers a two-storey wooden house built in November 1997, laid out as 4LDK plus a storage room, with 174.67 m² (52.83 tsubo) of floor area, on 291.13 m² (88.06 tsubo) of freehold residential land. The listing shows parking for 2 cars.

Is it a house or a lodging business?

The listing classifies the property as a pre-owned lodging facility, while its property name calls it a pre-owned house. It does not state any lodging licence or home-sharing notification, so do not assume one exists. Confirm with the seller, Hakuba Village and the Omachi health office which licence route fits your plan before you sign.

Can the house be extended or rebuilt bigger?

Check before you count on it. The listing gives building coverage of 60% and a floor-area ratio of 200%, but Hakuba Village's table for the Misorano villa area lists 20% and 40%, two storeys and an 8.5 m height limit on sites up to 500 m². The existing floor area is already about 60% of the land area. Ask the Misorano management office and the village which rules apply to this lot.

When can I move in?

The house is currently occupied and the listing says handover is negotiable, so the date has to be agreed with the seller and written into the contract.

Related guides

<!--/email_off-->